This yarn has been so many sweaters!

When the yarn shop I worked at closed two years ago, I stocked up on yarn like a, well, a girl who really likes yarn. Since then, this beautiful mustard-yellow Malabrigo yarn has been quite a few things.

At the beginning of the summer, it was a nearly finished Sidesaddle Cluster Pullover from Teva Durham’s Loop-d-Loop Crochet.

Towards the end of the summer, it became Andi Satterland’s Miette. For reasons I cannot explain, I felt an intense urge to rip it all out and start fresh. Does anyone else have this problem with yarn they love so well? The project has to be EXACTLY right.

This time, the yarn is telling me it wants to be the Dreamcatcher Medallion Cardigan from Teva Durham’s Loop-d-Loop. I’d been meaning to knit it for a long time. I found the book at a half-price book joint in Cleveland and my yellow yarn burst in my mind. It was settled.

The pattern is delightful even though there are a lot of things to take note of. I wish I still had the scrap sheet of paper I used to keep track of my buttonholes, bust and medallion shaping. Pure chicken scratch and hash marks. I might even make the medallion pppuuurrrrpleee….thoughts?

In other creative sects of my life, Kevin and I are making a poetry zine! In each spread, my poems are on the left and his are on the right. Some of them are set up as calls and responses, but not all of. It has been really fun to work on and we already have plans to make more. In this picture, Kevin is setting up a “ransom note poetry” spread.

When everything is finished, I will be sure to post a link to the digital version. School starts next week. I could not be more excited for my final year. Hopefully.

 

 

About Sarah James

I am a senior public relations student at Kent State University. I hope to one day work for a nonprofit. I enjoy knitting, writing and biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

