Ripple Ripple

When it comes to crafting, I am a sucker for zig-zags, ripples and ric-rac. I knit myself a ripple stitch scarf  last season with rosy-colored scraps and it has since become my go-to for winter. Ripples are delightfully retro. Ever notice all of the vomit colored ripple stitch blankets at the thrift shop? Now you will. What was I saying? Oh yes! I was going to show you my latest ripple stitch delights.

I used a ripple pattern from  200 Ripple Stitch Patterns for knitting and crochet. The book is set up conveniently with knitting stitches on the left and crochet motifs on the right side for easy flipping. Ripples send my knitting into the perfect rhythm from the crests to the valleys. Mathematically it is a fun pattern because you must add and subtract stitches for propper balance.

I love knitting for Morgan because she isn’t afraid to wear wacky colors. She is just the opposite! For this one, I used bits of purple and yellow Malabrigo worsted weight leftover from my Dreamcatcher Medallion cardigan with some red Debbie Stoller’s Full o’ Sheep. The green is Debbie Stoller’s washable wool, a yarn I am not likely to buy again. Next to the other fuller yarns, the green felt thin and plastic like. I mixed in some sequins here and there because Morgan needs a bit of sparkle, clearly.

Do you ripple?

About Sarah James

I am a senior public relations student at Kent State University. I hope to one day work for a nonprofit. I enjoy knitting, writing and biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

