Lauriel

After months and months, I am finally finished with my Lauriel cardigan. I used about 3.5 skeins of Berroco’s Vintage DK, a wool/acrylic/nylon blend with plenty of springy stitch definition and a US #5. I knit the 36″ but made minor adjustments to tighten up the sleeves. I bound off with a US #7 to make sure it was stretchy. The yarn is from Studio Knit in Medina.

I love all of Ysolda Teague’s designs. When I saw this cardigan, I knew I had to knit it. I am a sucker for anything top-down and seamless. The echoed leaf motifs were a delight to knit. I love the way they bleed into the twisted knit rib.

The yoke is a bit ruffled but that will smooth out in blocking. I originally started the sweater after Christmas. By January, it hit the bottom of the stack. Midway through I was afflicted with a “knitter’s black hole” and gave up on the project for a while. After knitting the fun yoke and interesting bust shaping, 5 inches of plain knitting seemed horrific. I picked it up again last week and resolved to wear it to Passover dinner. I was worried I was going to have to sew the buttons in the car!

All in all, I HIGHLY recommend this one. It is a lot different than any other top-down I have ever knit. I just know this will become my new daily sweater.

About Sarah James

I am a senior public relations student at Kent State University. I hope to one day work for a nonprofit. I enjoy knitting, writing and biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lauriel

  1. annanigma says:

    That’s beautiful! I really love the little diamond leaves

Leave a Reply

